Located on the Strand Quay (A259) Rye, overlooking the River Tillingham, Rye Heritage Centre was established by Rye Town Council in 1990 and incorporated Rye Tourist Information Centre.
The Centre has been much improved since its inception in 1990 notably the addition of a second extension and internal upgrade in 2001-02, funded largely by a Single Regeneration Budget (SRB) grant, through the South-East England Economic Development Agency (SEEDA).
The Heritage Centre is the home of the unique Story of Rye, Town Model Sound and Light Show. It also provides visitor information, a local accommodation booking service, audio/guided tours, gift shop and has a rare working collection of old pier amusement machines (some dating back to 1930)
In early August 2009 grant funding provided by Rother District Council was withdrawn. The grant had allowed the centre for many years to operate as a Networked Tourist Information Centre, and this arrangement also ceased from the date the grant was withdrawn.
Since August 2009, Rye Heritage Centre has operated successfully on a ‘stand alone’ commercial basis. The centre still meets and greets thousands of visitors a year, and continues to be a major attraction and information centre
The Heritage Centre is an asset of Rye Parish Town Council, and is therefore owned by the people of Rye.
We employ local people who have a wealth of experience and knowledge of the town and the surrounding area. We pride ourselves on our customer service, and look forward to welcoming you.