Walking Tours of Rye and the Town Hall

Mermaid Inn ( Clive Sawyer, Just 10 Gallery)
What better way to experience the beautiful and historic ‘Antient Town’ of Rye than on a walking tour led by an expert guide?

RYE HERITAGE CENTRE are delighted to be working in partnership with Rye Guided Walks to offer a two hour walking tour around the heart of our quaint, quirky and picturesque little town. Explore and learn about the hidden history and true tales of the smugglers, monarchs, murderers, monks, witches, writers ghosts and pirates who have all contributed to make Rye the unique and historic place it is today.

All tours include exclusive access to Rye’s Grade II Listed 18th Century Town Hall and it’s infamous gibbet cage and murderer’s skull, which is not usually open to the public, and a discount voucher for the ‘Story of Rye’ Town Model Sound and Light Show.

Call or email RYE HERITAGE CENTRE to reserve your places, or visit Rye Guided Walks at https://www.ryeguidedwalks.com/, or simply turn up on the day.

Places are strictly limited to 20 people per walk due to Town Hall access restrictions, so booking is strongly advised.

Price

£10 per person.

Accompanied under 14’s:  free.

The original John Breads skull in Rye Town Hall attic
Dates and Times

Tours run on Thursdays, Fridays and some Saturdays, and start from outside RYE HERITAGE CENTRE

Times vary according to Town Hall availability, so please check carefully for current tour dates and times below:

July 2018

Thursday 19th July: 2pm

Friday 20th July: 11am and 2pm

Thursday 26th July: 11am

Friday 27th July: 10am

August 2018

Thursday 2nd August; 11am and 2pm

Friday 3rd August: 10am

Saturday 4th August: 11am

Thursday 9th August: 11am and 2pm

Friday 10th  August: 11am

Saturday 11th August: 10am

Thursday 16th August:  11am and 2pm

 Friday 17th August: 10am

Saturday 18th August: 11am and 2pm

Dates for later in August and September to be announced soon

Private Guided tours by prior arrangement on selected dates. Please contact us or Rye Guided Walks direct for more information.